Battle of the Maroons

Ananda vs Nalanda

49th Battle of the Maroons

Ananda Captain

Gihan Karunaratne

Fourth year coloursman. Correct right hand batsman who is also dashing and brilliant. He is a batsman who can play whatever type of innings the circumtances require. Apart from his ability as a batsman he is an excellent field in any position, and as a bowler he can be expected to take the best wicket when the player is well set. Represented the Srilanka Schools Cricket Association in the Robert Senanayake Tournament.

P. Sarawanamuttu Stadium

March 25th and 26th of 1978

The 49th battle of the maroons ended in a draw.

Nalanda Captain

Susantha Karunaratne

Fourth year coloursman. Right arm fast medium bowler with lovely action. Was very unfortunate to injure himself in the begining of the season. Right hand stylish middle order batsman and a very good fielder in any position. Represents Sri Lanka Schools and plays Sara Trophy cricket for the Bloomfield Cricket Club.With this experience he has turned out to be our able leader who has made his changes into a fighting unit.

Ananda Team

Seated (left to right)
Brendan Kuruppu, Senanka Ekanayake, Prasanna Amarasinghe, Gihan Karunaratne(Captain), Chanaka Ekanayake, Rohitha Perera, Lalith Hewatharana.

Standing (left to right)
Deepal Dharmasekara, Hemakantha Ekanayake, Adel Hashim, Niran Ranatunge , Janak Hewagama, Upul Samarakoon, Dhammika Ranatunga, Charith Senanayake, Arjuna Ranatunga.

Nalanda Team

Seated (left to right)
Aruna Kodituwakku, Bandula de Silva, Hemantha Devapriya, Susantha Karunaratna (Captain),Upul Gamage Shammi Silva, Sanath Kaluperuma.

Standing (left to right)
Shantha Silva, Chandana Weerasinghe, Keerthi Ranasinghe, Somasiri Pieris, Jayampathi Amaranayake, Mohanlal de Silva, Roshan Gunaratne, Gihan Weerasinghe, Devaka Mahanama.