Battle of the Maroons

Ananda vs Nalanda

21st Battle of the Maroons

Ananda Captain

K. D. S. Wimalasekara

A tall stick and big hitter. Captained the team last year too. Catches a ball like a croc. Never misses the wickets - a fine field. Adopts a paternal attitude to his team-mates.

Oval Grounds

31st March and 01st April 1950

The 21st battle of the maroons won by Nalanda.

Nalanda Captain

A. Dharmadasa

No Photograph available

Dharmadasa played the role of skipper in the absence of Stanley Jayasinghe. The giant behind the stumps. Doughty fighter who got one of his teeth knocked off recently while behind the stumps.

Ananda Team

(Not in seated order)
K. D. S. Wimalasekera, B. Wijesinghe, D. A. Wickremasinghe, H. Seneviratne, N. Kulatunga, D. Perera, A. Wijemanne, S. L. Silva, S. Molligoda, Harrison Silva, M. Devendra, G. Jayatilake, P. J, Ranatunga

Nalanda Team

(Not in seated order)
M. A. L. Perera, Stanley Jayasinghe, A. Dharmadasa, Carl Obeysekera, Valentine Obeysekera, W. J. Jayasuriya, Ashley Silva, Donald Perera, W. W. Silva, W. H. S. Samarasekera, Sarath Hewagama, Clarence Pieris, A. De Zoysa, M. W. Chandrapala, Premaratne