Battle of the Maroons

Ananda vs Nalanda

22nd Battle of the Maroons

Ananda Captain

D. B. Wijesinghe

Leads the side this year with four years of cricket experience behind him. Handles his side well. Opens bowling for the side and maintains a steady length throughout. Is a very stylish, hard hitting batsman. A very safe field in any position.

Oval Grounds

30th and 31st March 1951

The 22nd battle of the maroons ended in a draw.

Nalanda Captain

S. Jayasinghe

Skipper of the side better known as "Cookabura". Has a special liking for "Beryl" cricket balls. He missed the last year battle as he was in the Ceylon Team touring Pakistan.

Ananda Team

(Not in seated order)
D. B. Wijesinghe, K. D. S. Wimalasekera, H. Seneviratne, N. Kulatunge, S. Molligoda, S. L. Silva, C. Premaratne, P. de Silva, N. Perera, H. A. Weerasinghe, L. Jayakody

Nalanda Team

W. W. Silva, D. Perera, S. Hewagama, M. W. Chandrapala, A. Gunasena, A. de Zoysa, W. H. S. Samarasekera

W. J. Jayasooriya, A. Dharmapala, S. Jayasinghe (Capt.), C. Obeysekera, A. de Silva

M. T. Rodrigo, H. C. H. Pieris